Lemon~Orange Curd Ice Cream

When the Sweet Tooth Fairy needs appeasing, a cool dish of Lemon~Orange Curd Ice Cream may do the trick. Made from Lemon~Orange Curd and cream, it has a delightful citrus tang tempered by the mellow cream and it is not too sweet. Making this ice cream turned out to be one more opportunity to use our home grown, organic oranges before their season ends.

ButterYum gave me this idea, and it seemed like the best thing to make when I had extra curd. If you are looking for more great recipes, check out her blog.

Lemon~Orange Curd
makes about 2 cups

1 1/2 cups fresh lemon juice
1 1/2 cups fresh orange juice
3 eggs
12 tablespoons butter
3/4 cup sugar
2 pinches of salt

Mix all ingredients in a small, heavy-bottomed sauce pan over medium-low heat. Stir until sugar is dissolved.  Cook, continuing to stir. Do not allow curd to boil. If it starts to sputter, briefly remove from heat. Curd is done when it becomes thick enough to coat a wooden spoon.

Press plastic wrap on the surface of the curd and refrigerate. Extra curd is a wonderful topping on toast.

To make ice cream, whisk together equal amounts of very cold curd and cream. (I used 1 1/2 cups of each, saving 1/2 cup of curd for morning toast.) Spoon into ice cream maker and follow manufacturer’s instructions.

I was somewhat distracted by the sight of all that lovely ice cream in front of me and forgot to take a photo of scooping ice cream out of the ice cream maker. This wasn’t the first time I have forgotten to take photos for the blog when seeing a tempting dish in front of me, and it won’t be the last. It wasn’t too complicated and I know you can visualize what was happening.

If you wish,  garnish the Lemon~Orange Curd Ice Cream with orange zest.


Share

About Cooking in Mexico

I'm a gringa living in Mexico, writing about classic Mexican recipes, New World ingredients and food events in my part of the world.
This entry was posted in Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lemon~Orange Curd Ice Cream

  1. ButterYum says:

    Bravo Kathleen!! I love that you mixed lemon and orange together – yummy. Your photography skills are improving :).:)ButterYum

  2. DarM456 says:

    Kathleen,This looks so creamy and delicious.Great citrus combo, we don't care about a missed photo of an ice cream machine. We love the final product picture! One can almost taste it.Darlene

  3. Kathleen says:

    Thanks for the great compliment, ButterYum, as one who has watched my pics from the beginning.

    Darlene,I'm glad you can almost taste it. I wish I could send the real thing to you.

  4. DarM456 says:

    Kathleen,I made your wonderful recipe for Lemon ~ Orange Curd today.Tomorrow the Ice Cream. Yummy!Darlene

  5. Kathleen says:

    I'm so glad to hear you made the curd. We finished our ice cream last night. Time to make more.

  6. Zia Elle says:

    That's good!!!!let's try…..

Leave a Reply

