Sardines and Guacamole for Lunch?

This combination of sardines and guacamole works, provided you like sardines (I do) and you have an avocado in the house (I did).  I made a quick little guacamole, using half an avocado, a bit of minced onion, finely chopped tomato and a splash of bottled hot sauce. If you are like me, you will want to add some salt.

Spread this on thinly sliced bread, crackers or pita bread. In the now scraped out guacamole bowl, mash a tin of sardines with olive oil. Spread this on the guacamole and chow down.

Sardines, a nutritional powerhouse, are found on most “Super Food” lists, and avocados are an excellent source of healthy oils. Take care of yourself.

About Cooking in Mexico

I'm a gringa living in Mexico, writing about classic Mexican recipes, New World ingredients and food events in my part of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sardines and Guacamole for Lunch?

  1. ButterYum says:

    I adore sardines – my grandmother used to feed them to me when I was very young, so I never thought of them as anything other than delicious. I learned from her example and started feeding them to my children when they were very young – to this day, they gather around if they see me with a can. We love guacamole too, but I would have never thought to combine it with sardines, so thanks for the inspiration – I'll definitely give this combo a try.

  2. Kathleen says:

    BY,It is such a great combo that this is the only way I want to eat sardines. I'll be ready for something different eventually, but for now, it makes a great lunch.My son grew up eating sardines with me. When he was about 4, he decided he wanted to eat sardines and strawberry jam sandwiches. I said that's fine, as long as you eat it. He asked for this for about 2 weeks, and then had enough of it.

  3. Guacamole lovers should also try this guacamole salad by Ina Garten:
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/07/31/guacamole-salad/

Leave a Reply

